Delhi metro

All You Need To Know About Delhi Metro Phase 4: Timeline, Routes, Stations & More

Six new corridors proposed under Phase IV

In a move to expand Delhi metro further and connect more places, phase IV of the metro that had been on the cards for long has finally been approved by the state government and the phase will cover six new corridors of the national capital.

Delhi metro’s phase IV will cover a length of 104 km across the six corridors and will have over 70 new stations in all the accessible areas of the city. Additionally, of the 104 km length, 31.47 km of the tracks will be laid underground, while the remaining 64.39 km will be on an elevated corridor. The major regions which will be covered under the phase are Rithala to Narela (21.73km), Janakpuri West to R K Ashram (28.92km), Inderlok to Indraprastha (12.58km).

Proposed metro routes
Proposed metro routes
Times Of India

Not only these areas, but Tughlakabad to Aerocity (20.20 km), and Lajpat Nagar to Saket G-Block (7.96 km) will also come under phase IV of Delhi metro. One can get a fair idea of the vast area that the phase will cover from the road map above.

One of the other technological advancements that the Phase IV makes is that it will adopt a layered form of construction. This means that the metro pillars will be increased in height and will make way for massive flyovers underneath the metro line. This makes way for future expansion of the roads in these areas.

Multi layered concept
Multi layered concept

The confirmation for this phase comes after a long tussle between the state government and the central government. The authorities heading this project have stated that work will begin as soon as 1 January 2019, so that they can deliver the project well in time. The metro’s phase IV is the most expensive DMRC project yet and is expected to come around by December 2024.

Recently, the Aqua Line connecting Noida and Greater Noida also got a Christmas launch date. We are eager to see what the future of the metro trains hold for the residents.