Lucknow's Ekana cricket stadium to host the inaugural match of Road Safety World Series 2022

Lucknow's Ekana cricket stadium to host the inaugural match of Road Safety World Series 2022

India Legends to feature in the inaugural match on September 10 in Lucknow's Ekana stadium

The inaugural match of the second edition of the Road Safety World Series T20 will be held at Lucknow's Ekana Stadium in September 2022. Other cities where the matches for the series will be held include, Hyderabad, Indore and Vizag.

The series which is finally taking place now, was postponed twice this year, first in Feb due to the COVID threat and second time due to the imposition of the Model Code of Conduct.

New Zealand Legends to be part of the RSWS

Road Safety World Series 2022 edition will see the addition of a new member, the New Zealand Legends. With this, a total of eight teams, namely, India Legends, South Africa Legends, England Legends, Australia Legends, West Indies Legends, Bangladesh Legends, New Zealand Legends and Sri Lanka Legends will compete against each other.

As per the reports, Sachin Tendulkar has been appointed as the brand ambassador of the Road Safety World T20 Series and Sunil Gavaskar has been appointed as the league commissioner.

India Legends to face South Africa Legends in the inaugural match

For people who have missed the iconic Jai-Veeru of the world cricket, i.e., the Sachin-Sehwag partnership for the longest time, here is the chance to witness the legends just from yards away. Reportedly, the inaugural match will take place on September 10, between India Legends and South Africa Legends at Lucknow's Ekana Cricket Stadium.

As of now, the entire schedule has not been released by the authorities, however, it is indicated that practice matches will be held at Ekana International Cricket Stadium in Lucknow from September 6 to 9. A total of 8 matches will be played in Lucknow till September 15.

Organised by Majestic Legends Sports Private Limited, the tournament is conducted with the aim to make people aware of Road Safety. The Road Safety World Series is an international T20 cricket league, which features former international legendary cricketers like Sachin Tendulkar, Kevin Peterson, Brian Lara and more.

The 2020–21 edition of the series featured players from India, England, Sri Lanka, West Indies, South Africa, Australia and Bangladesh. Notably, the previous edition was won by Sachin Tendulkar-led India Legends.

To get all the latest content, download our mobile application. Available for both iOS & Android devices. 

Related Stories

No stories found.